Observer Creative Writing Corner: “City Of Angels”

By Darren Kwan

A friend asked me to name a place I loved the most.

I remember my first love like a heart remembers to beat

A beautiful girl with golden brown hair and eyes of the ocean

She gently touched the little box and smiled

An elegant diamond necklace with a heart in the middle

A beautiful girl with golden brown hair and eyes of the ocean

She pulled away as quickly as she entered my life

An elegant diamond necklace with a heart in the middle

That cracked unevenly in half

 She pulled away as quickly as she entered my life

A terribly wonderful love, preserved in time no one could touch

That cracked unevenly in half

Like the necklace, first love was impossible to replicate

 A terribly wonderful love, preserved in time no one could touch

She gently touched the little box and smiled

Like the necklace, first love was impossible to replicate

I remember my first love like a heart remembers to beat

 The beginning to the end of a chapter in my life

We were the young loves that our older selves now reminisce about

My first love, filled perfectly with our childhood innocence

I replied to the friend “The city- of Angels, where I loved the most.”

About rutgersobserver

The official student newspaper of Rutgers-Newark.
This entry was posted in Arts & Entertainment, Volume 78 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

