Talented R-N Students Warm Up For Battle Of The Classes

photo-2

Story And Photo By Chinwe Onuoha

Rutgers-Newark’s Office of Student Life and Leadership held their annual open mic event at Stonsby Commons on March 10 in an effort to prepare students for the Battle of the Classes competition on March 26, where one student will win the grand prize of $380 on behalf of their graduating class.

The evening’s host, comic Jessica Kirson, was a positive influence on the performers.

“I’ve been a comedian for 15 years and I have performed on “The Today Show” and on “The View.” With that said, I know how these students feel and I support their craft,” Kirson said.

19-year-old Shereea Gaskin, a political science major, plans to participate in the Battle of the Classes competition to share her love of singing to the Rutgers-Newark community.

“I’ve always been singing since I was three, so whenever there’s an opportunity for me to showcase my talent I take advantage it,” said Gaskin.

Fellow Rutgers-Newark student, 20-year-old marketing major Frank Barcelos, plans to participate in the contest as way to thank God for giving him the talent to sing and play the guitar.

In addition to all of the Rutgers-Newark students that performed, some non-Rutgers-Newark students showcased their talents during the event.

“I am a part of a band called the “Little Engineers” and I came to this event to showcase my talents and to increase the number of Facebook followers that I have,” said 22-year-old NJIT graduate Chris Lee.

In addition to Lee, Jamaal Brown, R-N’s Assistant Director of Student Environment and Community Programming, played the Negro spiritual song “Wade in the Water” on his saxophone.

About rutgersobserver

The official student newspaper of Rutgers-Newark.
This entry was posted in News, Volume 78 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

