Observer Poetry Section: Superstition

By Chad Sanderson

So I’ve never been the superstitious type, but there’s something about you that’s just so supernatural.

But yet it feels so natural every time I look at you.

And I felt us drawing close before I even met you, some say love is eternal.

So tell me, where you been hiding?

Could it be that you’ve been residing in my ignorant supernatural realms?

Some where between pain and pleasure, heaven and hell.

And this might sound crazy but sometimes I embrace the pain because I find pleasure in it.

And that’s how wanting you feels.

Cause damn she’s like something I dreamnt up. Her radiancy is prolific.

The kind of girl I used to write poetry and songs for who I thought never existed

My dream girl? Or just the girl I dreamnt up.

Or did my ancient soul just carve her up like hieroglyphics in the structured caves of my mind?Incarcerated, captivated.

Cause when you got me steaming with infatuations of your beautiful imperfections, imaginations run wild and rapid.

And I don’t know about you, but I felt something strong as our humanly vessels collided; impacting with inspirations.

But baby. I got more to give. So come a little closer and I’ll embrace your emotions with these light potions, I designed for you.

And I’ll make time for you even when you’re caught up. I’ll fight when you’re fought up.

I’ll sacrafice and pay that price when you’re bought up. Show you a few things when you’re taught up.

And where ever we go they’ll point us like “yea, they’re doing something right.”

That girl who I saw in my dreams. That woman who I held to such high esteem in my reality.

And love is war and there will be casualties. But though lethal, not in vain.

Oh cause I can feel it with these inceptional thoughts floating around in my cerebral.

And personally, I believe dreams are real. Just another dimension funneled by our subconscious. Or maybe I’m just superstitious.

That superwoman who puts on a cape on virtue and puts smiles in my nightmares, and she might stare and never notice.

After all, I only met her once in my dreams and only I know this, superstitiously.

After all, it’s impossible for her to be standing right here in front of me. And we might criticized for this moment, so lets own it.

She’s so naturally unnatural, I can almost read her mind with my conscience.

And she’s so painfully honest, and I find peace and  pleasure in it.

And some say love is just a strong sequence of feelings and emotion chemically released by endorphins, and it’s really non-existent.

Only for the superstitious. Strictly based off of relativity, what ifs, and conditions.

But who cares what say, how bout you and me, lets get viciously superstitious and make or own truths.

Follow me and lets find pleasure in this pain. And like a garden in the desert, lets find good weather in the rain.

Let’s bounce in and out and between those things not seen in this natural world.

Lets drive far away in our dreams, I’ll pull over and put on music and the car lights.

Take my hand and we could slow dance, two stepping in the star lights.

And some say the belief in God is just superstition, and the demolition of man-kind of inevitable.

But I’ll still believe because everything must happen for a reason.

The cosmos and universe is too well versed, diverse and intricate for coincidence…. and that’s how loving you feels.

And I just hope God brings you to heaven, after all that’s where you belong. Among arch angels some call superstition.

And I know it sounds crazy but truth is I have many worlds to gain from this pain. Resulted by love.

Cause if I look hard enough. I can still find pleasure in it.

Incarcerated, captivated. Freely love binds.

Can’t really explain once you obtain it…and that’s how loving you feels.

So unreal, so unnatural,  like superstition.

About rutgersobserver

The official student newspaper of Rutgers-Newark.
This entry was posted in Arts & Entertainment, Volume 78 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

